Meric Gertler

TITRE D'EMPLOI: Président et vice-chancelier

RÔLE AU CONSEIL D'ADMINISTRATION: Vice-présidente

Organisation

Meric S. Gertler a pris la tête de l’Université de Toronto le 1er novembre 2013, devenant ainsi le 16e président de l’établissement. Avant le début de son mandat, de 2008 à 2013, il a été doyen de la faculté des arts et des sciences, la plus grande faculté de l’université. Pendant cette période, il est devenu le champion d’une foule de grandes innovations touchant l’enseignement et l’apprentissage au postsecondaire.

Professeur de géographie et d’aménagement, ainsi que titulaire de la chaire Goldring en études canadiennes de l’Université de Toronto, M. Gertler est cofondateur d’un grand programme de recherche de la Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, destiné à étudier le rôle des régions urbaines comme lieux d’innovation et de création dans l’économie mondiale. Par une analyse comparative des villes nord-américaines et européennes, son travail vise à souligner en quoi les dynamiques sociales et culturelles locales sous-tendent le succès économique et la prospérité.

M. Gertler a servi de conseiller auprès d’administrations locales, régionales et nationales au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe, ainsi qu’auprès d’agences internationales comme l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (Paris) et l’Union européenne. Il compte à sa bibliographie neuf livres (qu’il a écrit ou dont il a dirigé la rédaction), dont Manufacturing Culture: The Institutional Geography of Industrial Practice et The Oxford Handbook of Economic Geography (aussi sous la direction de Gordon Clark et de Maryann Feldman). Il a été professeur invité à l’Université d’Oxford, à l’Université College London, à l’Université de Californie à Los Angeles et à l’Université d’Oslo. À l’heure actuelle, il préside le groupe de travail de TRAES sur les partenariats de recherche entre le milieu des affaires et le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur. Ajoutons qu’il siège aussi au conseil d’administration de l’Hôpital pour enfants malades de Toronto et à celui du District de la découverte MaRS.

Diplômé de l’Université McMaster (baccalauréat des arts), de l’Université de Californie à Berkeley (maîtrise en urbanisme) et de l’Université Harvard (doctorat), M. Gertler a reçu un doctorat honorifique de l’Université Lund (Suède) en 2012 et de l’Université Shanghai Jiao Tong (Chine) en 2017. Il est membre de la Société royale du Canada et de l’Academy of Social Sciences (Royaume-Uni), de même que membre étranger de la British Academy. En 2007, l’Association canadienne des géographes lui a décerné le prix pour une distinction universitaire en géographie et, en 2014, l’Université de la Californie à Berkeley et l’Association of American Geographers lui ont remis respectivement le Distinguished Alumni Award et le Distinguished Scholarship Honor. Enfin, en décembre 2015, il a été décoré de l’Ordre du Canada.

Meric Gertler

JOB TITLE: President and Vice-Chancellor

BOARD ROLE: Vice-Chair

Organization

Meric S. Gertler began his term as the 16th President of the University of Toronto on November 1, 2013. Prior to that, he served as the Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Science—the largest faculty at the University—from 2008 to 2013, where he championed many important innovations in undergraduate teaching and learning.

He is a Professor of Geography and Planning, and the Goldring Chair in Canadian Studies at the University of Toronto. He is a co-founder of a large research program at U of T’s Munk School of Global Affairs investigating the role of city-regions as sites of innovation and creativity in the global economy. His work engages in comparative analysis of North American and European cities to understand how local social and cultural dynamics create the foundations for economic success and prosperity.

President Gertler has served as an advisor to local, regional and national governments in Canada, the United States and Europe, as well as to international agencies such as the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (Paris) and the European Union. He has authored or edited nine books, including Manufacturing Culture: The Institutional Geography of Industrial Practice and The Oxford Handbook of Economic Geography (with Gordon Clark and Maryann Feldman). He has held visiting appointments at Oxford, University College London, UCLA, and the University of Oslo. Currently, he serves as chair of the Working Group on Higher Education-Business Research Partnerships of the Business-Higher Education Roundtable. He is also a trustee for the Hospital for Sick Children and a member of the board of directors of MaRS Discovery District.

A graduate of McMaster University (BA), the University of California, Berkeley (MCP) and Harvard University (PhD), Professor Gertler was awarded an honorary doctorate from Lund University, Sweden, in 2012, and from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China, in 2017. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the Academy of Social Sciences (UK) and a Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy. He received the Award for Scholarly Distinction in Geography from the Canadian Association of Geographers in 2007, and in 2014, both the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of California, Berkeley and the Distinguished Scholarship Honor from the Association of American Geographers (AAG). In December 2015, Professor Gertler was appointed to the Order of Canada.